This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After last years escapades I promised myself (and long suffering wife) that I wouldn’t do as much birding this year. And I’ve stuck to it, which is why there have not been any Blog updates of late. However, I have been out a bit and thought it only right that I do a quick update with a few photos. So January started as always with the trudge round locally on the 1st, The Green-winged teal was the only highlight at Hayle but an early Balearic Shearwater the following day at Godrevy brightened things up. The rest of the month was spent hoovering up the long-stayers like Eastern Black Redstart, Pacific Diver, Icleland Gulls, Spoonbill and Cattle Egrets. February and March were uneventful for me and I didn’t venture further than my local patch until the Bonaparte’s Gull drew me to Helston mid month! April may as well have not happened! Only one outing for the whole month and that was to do a WeBS count! So I missed a whole host of scarcities and migrants.

A trip up to South Yorkshire to say goodbye to Andy Roadhouse allowed me a visit to RSPB Old Moor, which was nice. Tree Sparrow (rare as Rocking Horse Shite in Cornwall!), Little Stint and Little Ringed Plover were highlights.

And so once again to RSPB Ham Wall yesterday! This place never fails to amaze and inspire me. Brad and I arrived at about 8am and upon leaving at 1pm had seen 69 Species including 6 species of Heron. The supporting cast of Garganey, Barn Owls, Hobby, Marsh Harrier, Bearded Tits and loads of singing Cetti’s and Garden Warblers made the day even more enjoyable. After a short lunch break we headed to Yarner Woods in Devon. And again our luck was in, ‘cleaning up’ on all the target species, Wood Warbler, Pied Flycatcher, Redstart, Tree Pipit, Spotted Flycatcher and, after not connecting for the last 5 or six years, LESSER SPOTTED WOODPECKER!!

Anyway, few photos to keep you amused.

