Not had a lot of time to update the Blog recently but with Brad breathing down my neck to update it, here goes!

Nothing really happened, in my world anyway, until the 13th when a juv Whiskered Tern was discovered at Argal/College Reservoir by Ben Porter. Managed to bag that with brief but satisfactory views as it commuted between the two lakes.  The rest of the month was spent concentrating on my Patchwork Challenge patches at Hayle and Gwithian, determined to keep up the efforts at both being so close to the top of the leader board! Hayle proved fruitful on the 14th with a few woodland species that usually either evade me completely or I only get one of the three, but Nuthatch, Great-spotted and Green Woodpeckers were all put to bed. The open area at the back of Carnsew Pool has historically been a good spot for chats, pipits and Wheatears and today was no exception with a record Seven Wheatears and 20 Rock pipits! On the 24th I eventually strayed off patch and succumbed to some dirty twitching. I know now why I don’t generally bother anymore, dipping the Lesser Grey Shrike at Plymouth after it had been there for nearly a fortnight! Brad, Jake and I left somewhat despairingly mid-morning only for it to reappear mid-afternoon! By which time we were back in West Cornwall. We did however, take a detour to Davidstow Airfield, which gave us incredible close views of the Pectoral Sandpiper and Rose-coloured Starling!

