There’s nothing like being away and missing good birds on your patch!! Depite an excellent time in Yorkshire and Menorca I managed to miss the tern and wader passage on the Hayle estuary and a classic sea watch at Pendeen. Mark and Brad didn’t! So its a good job I put the effort in when in Yorkshire! So the main ones I missed as far as year tick go were Wilson’s Petrel and Cory’s and Great Shearwater. This had to be rectified, but the winds had died down by the time I got to Porthgwarra at first light on Monday morning. However, as I approached St Levan a small bird appeared on the road ahead of me. I slowed down as it stood in the glare of the headlights and my first though was a small crake? Then as I got closer the bird started to run before flying into cover by the roadside. I then immediately realised it was a Quail!! (224) Amazingly this is my first one in Cornwall and something I wasn’t expecting to see this year!!

Anyway, after a new county bird, I really didn’t mind how well the sea watch went, but sat down with the two other birders anyway. The wind wasn’t too bad and the first Cory’s Shearwater (225) put in an appearance at 0722hrs, followed by others at 0742, 0820, 0838, 0848 and finally at 0916. There were no Great Shears, despite two being reported from some visiting birders who were watching pretty much from the car park!! My totals from 0600 to 100 were: Bonxie 3, Sooty Shear 20, Storm Petrel 31, Cory’s 6, Common Tern 1, ‘comic’ Tern 4, Common Scoter 2, plus thousands of Manx’s, Gannets, Fulmar, Kittiwake and other Gulls. Just gotta hope for another big blow soon before the big shears disappear for good!

