So traditionally, July is very quiet on the birding front until sea watching gets going towards the end of the month. I also had a promotion to swot for and a short family break in between so birding had to play second fiddle for a while. Inevitably the year list suffered, with NO new birds acquired all month. I did bash the estuary at Hayle a few times and added a few Patchwork Challenge ticks including Turnstone, which can often be difficult to see there. This put me in first place in the comparative league!!

Anyway, with the interview out of the way and a few days before my holiday to Menorca. The Dalmatian Pelican put in a few days on the estuary, allowing me 5 valuable Patchwork points as well as a few decent photos!  I decided on an early August sea watch. So Brad, Mark, Kerry and I headed for Porthgwarra on the 8th and were ‘rewarded’ with Sooty Shearwater (214), Puffin (215), 4 Great Skuas, 3 Balearic Shearwaters, Five Common Terns and 2 Storm Petrels (216).

The following day I was back on my old patch in Yorkshire! The Black-necked Grebe (217), showed well at Boston Park with Common Tern, Common Sandpiper and Green Woodpecker of further interest. No LRP though despite a very long walk to Packard’s South. And so to the 10th and off to Menorca!…………….

 

