So by the end of February I had reached 159 sp. and since the 20th Feb, the weather and work had scuppered any plans to greater that score. I had hoped to reach 160 by the end of the month but that was not to be. Also, my patch work had suffered due to the need to catch up with winter year ticks!! So, new month and a reported break in the weather saw me head down west to Cape Cornwall where a White-billed Diver had been reported the previous two days. However, on arrival, the break in the weather had not yet arrived and I was faced with gale force SW gusts, drizzle and fog. I gave it an hour, then gave up. Wet and demoralised I headed for Bartinney where a Short-eared Owl had been showing well. Not today. Thick fog shrouded the hill top.

Third quarry of the day was Woodlark at St Erth. again, heavy showers and no sign of any birds did my appetite for year listing no favours. So I headed home for a spot of lunch.

Now I could have quite easily stayed in the warmth on the sofa for the rest of the afternoon. But, my days of are few and far between and with no school run to do I decoded to try my luck at the other pointy end of the county. By 1330hrs I was on Lizard Point watching a pair of Choughs (160) feeding in a field. Finally a new year bird and hit the 160 target! A meet up with Jake on the village green and a short walk east and I soon found the adult Rose-coloured Starling (161)that Jake actually found back on October 3rd last year. The bird was still looking a bit grubby but will no doubt soon be in all its pink-waistcoated splendour. (if it hangs around!)

25107381239_19a9a946da_z_d25448798896_27747fb629_z_d

So we are now in March and looking forward to the first spring migrants heading our way. Lets hope for a change in the weather to push them along!

