Black Redstart (1w/fem) (P.Freestone)

It’s been a while since I put anything of interest on the blog so thought I’d spend a bit of time on this wet and windy day in Cornwall, updating with a few photos etc.

So, I’ll start of with news form the Gwithian Patchwork challenge. After losing my tpo spot on the Coastal South league I was determined to get a few much needed species under my belt so spent a good three days on patch at the end of September rectifying my slippage into 2nd place. I was rewarded with 9 new species including Siskin, Sanderling, Garden warbler, Black-tailed Godwit and a sought after Whinchat! Common birds were also added such as Long-tailed Tit and Grey Heron!

A pre-Scillies visit in October added three further species. Redwing and black Redstart were a bonus but bird of the year so far goes to the Yellow-browed warbler I managed to find at Gwithian Green!

Yellow-browed Warbler, Gwithian (P.Freestone)

So at the end of October the Gwithian yearlist stands at 107 species, with still a month and a half to go! Bit of a push and 110 is still achievable!

