Concentrating on covering my two patches is paying dividends so far this year with 67 at Hayle compared to last years 63 and Gwithian is fairing even better with 48 species, 9 more than at this time last year. Nothing of any note really at either site, with the two most recent additions to Hayle being Collared Dove and House Sparrow!!

Sanderlings at Copperhouse Creek

Anyway, the  yearlist continues to grow with another five species added. I forgot to mention the superb male Merlin that Mark and I saw in fields off Long Lane, St Erth on Sunday which brought the total to 121. Bird number 122 was a Mistle Thrush on a football pitch near Portishead on the 16th and I finally caught up with three Purple Sandpipers at Jubilee Pool on 20th, despite going arse over tit and dropping my camera as I slipped on the rocks!

Worth the fall!? Nice Purple sandpiper at Jubilee Pool

Sewerage works are always worth a visit during the winter and Gwennap near Lanner is no exception. Loads of Chiffchaffs, including a couple of tristis types fed in scrub near the settling beds and a smart YELLOW-BROWED WARBLER was amongst them. A Sparrowhawk fortunately flushed a wintering Green Sandpiper out of the reeds which was a bonus yeartick! Still no luck with the Bittern at Marazion though but three Stonechats kept me entertained with the camera!

The RSPB Stonechat!
