Day two of the year saw me unfortunately at work, but not until the afternoon so I headed for Totnes via the moorland areas of Bolventor and Golitha Falls. This has to be one of my favourite areas in Cornwall and the latter site has all the woodland specialities. First though a quick scan of Dozmary Pool found a male Goldeneye and the male LESSER SCAUP amongst the Tufted Ducks. The Scaup is an American visitor but this one has surely outstayed it’s visa as it returns to the pool year after year. The question is, Where does it go for the rest of the year?? Little else in the area so off to Nine-bridges, one of the few places in Cornwall where Willow Tit occur. En-route, a quick look at the eastern side of Colliford Lake produced a Great-crested Grebe and over a hundred Canada Geese. Once at Nine-bridges, two Willow Tits were located a short way along the track and at least nine Reed Buntings were also in the sedges in the wet fields on the left. For anyone wanting to yeartick woodland birds Golitha falls has to be on the ‘to do’ list. It is an amazing mixed mature woodland with a rocky fast flowing river running through it. Ideal for Dipper. And as if by magic, one was singing from a rock just under the bridge as I left the car park! Treecreeper, Green and Great Spotted Woodpecker, Marsh Tit and over thirty Nuthatch were also seen.

As a change from crossing the Tamar by bridge I thought I might try the Torpoint Ferry. Via Whacker Quay of course and I was just in time to see over fifty Avocets fly down river as I pulled into the car park. These brought my year list to 99 species! After that I kind of got lost. Having heard there were two Spoonbills at St Johns Lake, I decided on a short detour. I found the lake but no Spoonbills. However, just as I was leaving a Sparrowhawk flew low over the road in front of the car! 100 species. Shame I then had to go to work!

The following day (3rd) saw me at work all day, but I managed a Grey Wagtail from the police station window at Totnes!

